SDA and EIF 2024 Sustainable Development Awards

Go back

The SDAC and EIF Successfully Hosted the 2024 Sustainable Development Awards

Windhoek, June 19, 2024 — The Sustainable Development Advisory Council (SDAC) and the Environmental Investment Fund of Namibia proudly hosted the 2024 Sustainable Development Awards, celebrating outstanding achievements and innovations in sustainability. The prestigious event took place on Wednesday, June 19th at The Windhoek Country Club, gathering key stakeholders, industry leaders, and change-makers dedicated to fostering sustainable development across Namibia.

The 2024 Sustainable Development Awards recognized individuals, organizations, and projects that have demonstrated exceptional commitment to sustainable practices, environmental stewardship, and social responsibility. The awards ceremony highlighted various categories, including climate action, biodiversity conservation, renewable energy, waste management, and sustainable agriculture.

Keynote Address:
The event was graced by the presence of the Minister of Environment, Forestry and Tourism, Honourable Pohamba Shifeta, who delivered a compelling keynote address emphasizing the importance of sustainable development for the nation's future and honouring the legacy of the late DAR. Hage Geingob.

“In the spirit of celebration, we also find ourselves in a moment of profound reflection and sorrow. We pay tribute to the late President of the Republic of Namibia, His Excellency Dr. Hage Gottfried Geingob, a visionary leader whose departure has left an indelible void in our hearts and the history of our nation. President Geingob, the architect of the Namibian Constitution and a staunch advocate for environmental sustainability, was instrumental in embedding principles of sustainability within our national fabric. Today, we dedicate these awards to his memory, celebrating his commitment to the betterment of Namibia and his transformative vision that continues to shape our nation.”

Award Categories and Winners:

  • Private Sector Champions- Start-ups:
    • Winner: BioCycle
  • Private Sector Champions- Established:
    • Winner: B2Gold
  • Community-level Natural Resource Management:
    • Winner: Aveshe Food Products
  • Research and Development :
    • Winner: Shepherd Nyambe
  • Youth Action for Sustainable Development:
    • Winner: Kaylah Cordom
  • Artist Action for Sustainable Development:
    • Winner: Legal Assistance Centre
  • Pioneering Journalism – Best Print:
    • Winner: Eveline de Klerk
  • Pioneering Journalism – Best Radio:
    • Winner: Justicia Shipena
  • Pioneering Journalism – Best Television
    • Winner: Blanche Goreses
  • Pioneering Journalism – Best Digital Media :
    • Winner: Wakapinya
  • Women and Environment:
    • Winner: Luze Kloppers Mutton
  • Sustainable Schools - Public:
    • Ambrosius Amutenya Primary School
  • Sustainable Schools - Private:
    • Superb English Academy
  • Green Financial Services:
    • First National Bank
  • Thought Leadership Award:
    • Her Excellency The Vice President of Namibia – Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwa

Expressions of Gratitude: The Sustainable Advisory Council extends heartfelt gratitude to all stakeholders, sponsors, and participants for their unwavering support and contributions to the success of the 2024 Sustainable Development Awards. Their commitment to sustainable development is instrumental in driving positive change and building a sustainable future for Namibia.

Future Outlook: The success of the 2024 Sustainable Development Awards marks a significant milestone in Namibia's journey toward sustainability. The Sustainable Development Advisory Council remains committed to promoting and supporting initiatives that align with the nation's sustainable development goals, fostering a culture of environmental stewardship and social responsibility.

For more information about the 2024 Sustainable Development Awards and future initiatives, please contact:

Media Contact:

Nicole Asino Pendapala Amadhila 

Environmental Investment Fund of Namibia    Sustainable Development Advisory Council